We all want to enjoy our favorite sweets, but at the same time, we want to stay healthy. Although these are the most popular cookies globally, many people wonder, are Oreos gluten-free? Especially diabetic, allergic to lactose or celiac people. So are Oreos gluten-free and dairy-free? Find out here with us.
What is gluten, and do Oreos have gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in certain foods such as wheat flour, oats, barley, malt, etc. When we refer to the most significant problem caused by this protein, we refer to its gliadin component, the cause of most damage to the body.
When a person is gluten intolerant or celiac, their body’s immune system reacts negatively to gliadin. This causes symptoms such as inflammation, abdominal pain, nausea, and other characteristic symptoms of celiac disease.
Therefore, when a person is diagnosed with celiac disease, they tend to stop eating many foods that they usually eat. And his diet must be utterly gluten-free because otherwise, his symptoms would worsen.
So, the traditional Oreo cookie does have gluten. Since its first appearance, it has been a compound present in its ingredients, making it unsuitable for celiacs or vegans. This small detail makes a big difference because a single cookie could seriously harm a gluten-intolerant person.
So for all of you wondering if Oreos are gluten-free and dairy-free, in their original version, they are not. On the other hand, even though there are vegans who are not intolerant to gluten, it is still not suitable for their diets since it contains ingredients of animal origin.
Are Oreo cookies lactose-free?
As good news for many people, Oreo cookies are lactose-free. Despite their white filling, which makes us believe that they do, in reality, in their original version, Oreos have never had lactose. So they are perfectly healthy for people who are lactose intolerant or those who want to eliminate dairy from their daily diet.
Oreo cookies ingredients and nutritional value
If you want to improve your diet or know if are Oreo gluten-free and dairy-free, it is best to look at their ingredients and components. In this way, you can determine if it is a cookie that you still want to include in your daily diet or not.
Oreo cookies ingredients
Cocoa cookies [wheat flour, sugar, palm fat, fat-reduced cocoa (4.5%), water, glucose syrup, salt, raising agent (sodium carbonates), flavoring], reconstituted skimmed milk powder, sugar, pieces cocoa biscuit [wheat flour, sugar, rapeseed oil, fat-reduced cocoa (0.4%), glucose-fructose syrup, wheat starch, palm fat, raising agents (potassium carbonates, ammonium carbonates, sodium), salt, emulsifier (soya lecithin), flavoring], coconut fat, cream (2.5%), glucose syrup, whey powder, skimmed milk powder, emulsifier (mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids ), stabilizers (locust bean gum, guar gum), aroma.
In some presentations and packages of special Oreos, we can find ingredients such as:
In any case, we recommend reviewing the detailed ingredients in each package of Oreo cookies that you want to buy. This way, you can know what it contains and its nutritional value.
Oreo cookies nutritional value per 3 cookies (34.2g)
- Energy: 678 KJ = 162 kcal.
- Protein: 1.40 g.
- Fiber: 0.7g.
- Sugar: 13.70 g.
- Carbohydrates: 24g.
- Saturated fat: 1,800 g.
- Trans fat: 0.000 g.
- Monounsaturated fat: 3,200 g.
- Polyunsaturated Fat: 1,200 g.
- Sodium: 160mg.
Try the new Oreos gluten-free.
In 2020, the Oreo company announced fantastic news through its Twitter account that would benefit all people intolerant to gluten. For the first time in Oreo history, they would release a gluten-free version of Oreos.
Many wondered if they would have the same flavor or texture, and doubts abounded, but once the new cookie was on the market, it was trendy. Today, many people can enjoy the incredible taste of Oreos without having to suffer the consequences.
To give the public much more security about the veracity of the new ingredients, this new version was certified by the Gluten Intolerance Group of North America, assuming that the new Oreos are gluten-free and safe.
In 2022 there are already different versions of these gluten-free Oreos; you can find them in all flavors and 13.29-ounce packages. So when somebody asks if are Oreos cookies gluten-free? We can say yes!
Gluten-free Oreo Cookies ingredients
Sugar, white rice flour, tapioca starch, palm oil, canola oil, whole oatmeal, corn starch, cocoa (processed with alkali), invert sugar, soy lecithin, baking soda, salt, gum xanthan, chocolate, artificial. Taste.