Oreos have been one of the most popular cookies over the years, but many people wonder, are Oreos vegan? It is true that they have an incredible flavor and are cheap, that’s why we all want to try them.
If you are a vegan person with an uncontrollable desire to try these cookies until now, we bring the answers to all your questions. Are Oreos vegan friendly? Find out here.
What and how is vegan food?
Every vegan food, product, or food doesn’t contain ingredients of animal origin. They don’t just avoid consuming meat but of all those products derived from animals such as eggs, dairy, and even different types of flour.
When a person decides or desires to modify his lifestyle and start veganism, they tend to say goodbye to certain foods. However, this does not mean you have to say goodbye to them forever.
Today vegan food has evolved in such a way that vegetarians have many more options to choose from. Many famous food brands have joined the inclusion, creating completely vegan-friendly food lines.
Are Oreos vegan friendly?
Believe it or not, Oreos has always been vegan. This happened accidentally in traditional Oreos, and since then, the formula has not changed. So if you have resisted the desire to eat these delicious cookies until now, you will be delighted to know that Oreos are vegan.
However, despite being proven that none of its ingredients are of animal origin, the companies alert the public to be vigilant. Although not part of the composition, Oreos may have traces of milk.
This is the only reason Oreos are not certified vegan-friendly. Since in the machines and utensils that they use to manufacture each batch of their products, they cannot guarantee that they are 100% free of milk.
So, are Oreos vegan or not? Yes, its composition does not have ingredients of animal origin. But the only possible trace of milk comes from the machinery they use.
Oreos cookies ingredients
Cocoa cookies [wheat flour, sugar, palm fat, fat-reduced cocoa (4.5%), water, glucose syrup, salt, raising agent (sodium carbonates), flavoring], reconstituted skimmed milk powder, sugar, pieces cocoa biscuit [wheat flour, sugar, rapeseed oil, fat-reduced cocoa (0.4%), glucose-fructose syrup, wheat starch, palm fat, raising agents (potassium carbonates, ammonium carbonates, sodium), salt, emulsifier (soya lecithin), flavoring], coconut fat, cream (2.5%), glucose syrup, whey powder, skimmed milk powder, emulsifier (mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids ), stabilizers (locust bean gum, guar gum), aroma.
Is it safe to eat Oreos for vegan people?
As the company states, each batch of Oreo cookies they make has a 0.01% chance of having traces of milk. But in reality, its ingredients are entirely vegan.
We hope we have answered your questions about whether they are vegan-friendly Oreos and that you can enjoy them as many times as you want. Therefore, if you’re going to put aside the slightest possibility, you can add these delicious cookies to your daily vegan diet.
However, the Oreo company does not recommend the consumption of its cookies for vegan consumers since there is the slightest possibility of containing traces of milk due to direct contact with the machinery.
Oreos varieties than aren’t vegan friendly
Ahora, solo las galletas Oreo originales y las gluten-free pueden considerarse accidentalmente veganas. Porque existen otro tipo de variaciones que no lo son, ya que contienen leche. Por ejemplo, las Oreo fudge o cualquier que esté cubierta con algún tipo de chocolate o producto lacteo.